Sign In
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Business > Health and Safety > Emergency Incidents > The Civil Contingencies Act

​​​The Civil Contingencies Act

The Civil Contingencies Act (CCA) became law in November 2004 and provides a framework for emergency planning throughout the UK. The act splits the statutory organisations involved in emergencies into;

Category One Responders
This includes Police, Fire, Ambulance, NHS England Area Teams, Acute Hospital Trust, Public Health England, Borough Councils (such as Redcar & Cleveland Borough Council), Port Health Authority, Environment Agency, Maritime Coastguard Agency.

Category Two Responders
This includes the Health and Safety Executive, Water, Transport, Electricity and Gas Distributors, Railway Operators, Airport Operators, Ports, Highways England, Clinical Commissioning Groups.

Whilst not specifying voluntary organisations as Category Responders, the act and the Borough Council recognise the crucial role these organisations have to play in responding to and recovering from an emergency.

Duties of the Local Authority
As a category one responder the Act places the following duties on the Borough Council;
  • Risk Assessment
  • Business Continuity Management (BCM)
  • Emergency Planning
  • Maintaining Public Awareness and arrangements to warn, inform and advise the public.
  • Promotion of Business Continuity Management (BCM) to the commercial sector and to voluntary organisations

Additionally the act ensures that the Category one responders have a legislative responsibility to;
  • Co-operate
  • Share Information
​Further information on the act is available from the legislation website.


Redcar & Cleveland House,
Kirkleatham Street, Redcar,
Yorkshire TS10 1RT

you could call our Customer Services Team on 01642 774774 between 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday.

Live Chat Software by Click4Assistance UK

Related Documents

Related Links