Sign In
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Democracy > Boundary Reviews > Local Boundary Review

​​Boundary Review 2018​​​​​​

What is the boundary review?
The Boundary Commission for England has star​ted a review of Parliamentary constituencies in England. 

Parliamentary boundaries define a geographic area - a Parliamentary constituency. The electors within this area will be represented by an MP. A Parliamentary boundary review looks at the existing constituencies and makes recommendations for any changes that might be needed. These changes will be implemented in time for the next scheduled General Election in 2020.

For the 2018 Review, the Commission must make its final report and recommendations in September 2018. Those final recommendations will be informed by a series of open consultations with the public, to capture the knowledge and expertise of local people as part of the process of refining their initial proposals.

Why are they doing a review?
Parliament has specified that the 2018 Review must reduce the number of constituencies in the UK to 600 (from the current 650). As independent and impartial bodies, the Parliamentary Boundary Commissions are required to review and recommend where the boundaries of those new constituencies should be, with the law requiring that every new constituency (except four specified island constituencies) must have roughly the same number of electors: no fewer than 71,031 and no more than 78,507.

What does this mean for England?
The law requires the 600 constituencies to be allocated to England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales using a specific distribution formula and the number of Parliamentary electors as at 1 December 2015. Applying this means the number of constituencies in England will reduce from 533 to 501 in the 2018 Review.

What do you need to know?
  • The number of constituencies in the North East region must reduce from 29 to 25
  • The boundary lines in our area have been re-drawn and changes are proposed
  • Proposals include that Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland Constituency boundary lines with Middlesbrough Council should change and should now include the wards of Eston, Normanby and Ormesby
  • The Redcar Constituency should be renamed to ​​Middlesbrough North East & Redcar and shall now include electors from 6 wards in Middlesbrough Council

More details can be found on the Boundary Commission website.​​

You can also visit our ​interactive Ward Boundaries Map​ here for information about the current and proposed ward boundaries.


Redcar & Cleveland House,
Kirkleatham Street, Redcar,
Yorkshire TS10 1RT

you could call our Customer Services Team on 01642 774774 between 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday.

Live Chat Software by Click4Assistance UK

Related Documents

Related Links