Parliamentary Boundary Review 2018

What is the boundary review?
The Boundary Commission for England has started a review of Parliamentary constituencies in England.

Parliamentary boundaries define a geographic area - a Parliamentary constituency. The electors within this area will be represented by an MP. A Parliamentary boundary review looks at the existing constituencies and makes recommendations for any changes that might be needed. These changes will be implemented in time for the next scheduled General Election in 2020.

For the 2018 Review, the Commission must make its final report and recommendations in September 2018. Those final recommendations will be informed by a series of open consultations with the public, to capture the knowledge and expertise of local people as part of the process of refining their initial proposals.

Why are they doing a review?
Parliament has specified that the 2018 Review must reduce the number of constituencies in the UK to 600 (from the current 650). As independent and impartial bodies, the Parliamentary Boundary Commissions are required to review and recommend where the boundaries of those new constituencies should be, with the law requiring that every new constituency (except four specified island constituencies) must have roughly the same number of electors: no fewer than 71,031 and no more than 78,507.

What does this mean for England?
The law requires the 600 constituencies to be allocated to England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales using a specific distribution formula and the number of Parliamentary electors as at 1 December 2015. Applying this means the number of constituencies in England will reduce from 533 to 501 in the 2018 Review.

What do you need to know?

  • The number of constituencies in the North East region must reduce from 29 to 25
  • The boundary lines in our area have been re-drawn and changes are proposed
  • Proposals include that Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland Constituency boundary lines with Middlesbrough Council should change and should now include the wards of Eston, Normanby and Ormesby
  • The Redcar Constituency should be renamed to Middlesbrough North East & Redcar and shall now include electors from 6 wards in Middlesbrough Council
What happens now?

The Commission published on 13 September 2016 initial proposals for new parliamentary constituencies in England and members of the public were able to have their say by giving the Commission their views on these proposals during the 12-week consultation period.

From 28 February 2017, the Boundary Commission for England will publish all of the consultation responses they have received (nearly 20,000) on their website at

The next part of the consultation process will then open and they invite comments on these consultation responses, for four weeks until Monday 27 March 2017.

Following this secondary consultation, the Commission will be considering all representations received from both consultations, and will consider whether any revisions are needed. If they decide to revise the proposals, they will consult on the revised boundaries. They currently expect any such consultation to happen towards the end of 2017, or in early 2018.

The Commission would like to encourage everyone to take time to see what others have said about their initial proposals and to add your views to those via the consultation website

More details can be found on the Boundary Commission website.

Bookmark and Share

Live Chat Software by Click4Assistance UK
No Tags have been submitted for this page. Why not submit one?
What is a Tag?

Last updated:

Assigned review date:

Awaiting page content review by the allocated team

Page Section:
The Council
Elections & Voting

Footer images
Resident Business The Council Visit Jobs #skip_navigation News A to Z Access Keys Homepage What's New Site Map FAQs Help Complaints Terms & Conditions Contact Us Search