Redcar and Cleveland Governors' Association

Redcar and Cleveland Governors' Association provides an independent, democratic forum for governing bodies within the Borough.

The Aims of the association, as set out in the agreed constitution, are as follows:
  1. To be an independent, democratic forum for all governing bodies in Redcar and Cleveland.
  2. To assist governing bodies to further the interests and education of children in Redcar and Cleveland.
  3. To promote the highest possible standards of school governance.
  4. To encourage co-operation and the sharing of good practice between schools and governing bodies.
  5. To further good relationships with the local authority and other relevant agencies.
  6. To provide a vehicle for expressing collective views of governing bodies and to make appropriate representation at local, regional and national level.
  7. To promote equality of educational opportunity for all children.

The Governors' Association is next due to meet in Spring term 2016. The Executive Committee will agree the actual date when it next meets, on 30th November 2015.

The Constitution of the Governors' Association was last revised in 2012. This can be viewed by clicking on the link below.

 icon Constitution.pdf (23.02k)
Last modified: 16/01/2013 12:05:35

Membership of the Governors' Association is open to governing bodies of all maintained and aided schools throughout Redcar and
Cleveland local authority, subject to payment of an annual subscription fee of £40. Each governing body member of the association may send a voting
representative to meetings, which are normally held once each school term.

The following schools are currently members of Redcar and Cleveland Governors' Association:
  • Caedmon Primary
  • Hummersea Primary
  • John Emmerson Batty Primary
  • Lingdale Primary
  • Newcomen Primary
  • Rye Hills Secondary
  • Skelton Primary
  • St Gabriels RC Primary
  • St Peters CE Primary
  • Zetland Primary
  • Belmont Primary
  • Coatham CE Primary
  • Grangetown Primary
  • Kirkleatham Hall Special
  • Lockwood Primary
  • Normanby Primary
  • Overfields Primary
  • Redcar Academy
  • Sacred Heart RC Secondary
  • South Bank Community Primary
  • St Margarets Catholic Primary
  • Teesville Primary
  • Wheatlands Primary
  • Bydales Secondary
  • Galley Hill Primary
  • Green Gates Primary
  • Ings Farm Primary
  • Lakes Primary
  • Laurence Jackson School
  • New Marske Primary
  • Nunthorpe Primary
  • Nunthorpe Academy
  • Pathways School
  • Riverdale Primary
  • Saltburn Learning Campus
  • St Marys RC Primary
  • Westgarth Primary

An Executive Committee is responsible for the general management of the Association and such business as is decided by meetings of the Association.
The Executive Committee is elected at each Annual General Meeting and, in principle, includes representation from all types of school within the authority, all phases of education and, where possible, representation from geographical clusters. The committee is made up of ten members including the following officers

  • Chair: Mr B Coulson, Sacred Heart School
  • Vice-Chair: Mr K Wood, Normanby Primary School
  • Secretary: Mrs R Nicholls, Saltburn Learning Campus
  • Treasurer: Mrs S Nicholson, Riverdale Primary School

Other governors, currently members of the Executive Committee are as follows: Dr D Thomson (Kirkleatham Hall School), Mr V Peel (Lakes Primary), Mrs Y Joy (New Marske Primary), Mr D Gallagher, Redcar Academy, Mr M Bloomfield, Belmont Primary and Mrs J Parncutt (Hummersea Primary School)

Secretary's Reports
Rosemary Nicholls, as Secretary of the Executive Committee, prepares a summary following each presentation delivered by speakers at termly meetings. A collection of the most recent summaries can be found below:
 icon Pupil Premium.pdf (23.19k)
Last modified: 28/01/2015 10:37:07

 icon Saltburn Campus.pdf (21.54k)
Last modified: 28/01/2015 10:38:28

 icon CAMHS article Final.pdf (18.32k)
Last modified: 20/03/2015 10:28:27

 icon Summer 15 NLG Advocate.pdf (15.61k)
Last modified: 31/07/2015 14:45:50

 icon Autumn 15 School Advisers Team.pdf (123.88k)
Last modified: 13/11/2015 13:20:31

Full Association Minutes
 icon Governors' Association 170314.pdf (62.78k)
Last modified: 20/03/2015 09:16:36

 icon Governors' Association 230614.pdf (36.22k)
Last modified: 20/03/2015 09:18:42

 icon Governors' Association 241114.pdf (46.95k)
Last modified: 20/03/2015 09:19:14

 icon Governors' Association 230215.pdf (43.67k)
Last modified: 20/03/2015 09:14:08

 icon Governors' Association 020715.pdf (48.54k)
Last modified: 11/08/2015 08:48:58

Executive Committee Minutes
 icon Governors' Association Executive 090714.pdf (42.14k)
Last modified: 20/03/2015 09:48:15

 icon Governors' Association Executive 031214.pdf (38.13k)
Last modified: 20/03/2015 09:48:47

 icon Governors' Association Executive 190315.pdf (32.03k)
Last modified: 11/08/2015 08:51:48

 icon Governors' Association Executive 130715.pdf (28.21k)
Last modified: 11/08/2015 08:50:30

Annual General Meeting Minutes
 icon AGM 2011.pdf (30.51k)
Last modified: 13/01/2012 12:05:58

 icon AGM 2012.pdf (24.93k)
Last modified: 16/01/2013 12:10:54

 icon AGM 2013.pdf (26.5k)
Last modified: 22/01/2014 16:21:16

 icon AGM 2014.pdf (26.43k)
Last modified: 20/03/2015 09:57:59

You can find out more about the Redcar and Cleveland Governors' Association by contacting Donna Scott, Manager of Governor Services on 01642 837758 or at

* Link will open in a pop-up window
Bookmark and Share

Live Chat Software by Click4Assistance UK

Last updated:

Assigned review date:

Awaiting page content review by the allocated team

Page Section:
Schools & Learning
, Resident
Schools & Learning

Footer images
Resident Business The Council Visit Jobs #skip_navigation News A to Z Access Keys Homepage What's New Site Map FAQs Help Complaints Terms & Conditions Contact Us Search
Useful Websites
School Governor Support Service
School Governor Support Service