|is home to a boating lake, tennis courts, childrens play area, and luscious gardens to explore. |
<br /><br /><b>A brief history of Locke Park</b><br /><br />
Opened in 1929 by the then Mayoress of Redcar Mrs B.O. Davies
'Colonel Locke, a generous Redcar benefactor left in his will £5000 to the Borough Council for the purchase of 24 acres of land for a public park for the people of the growing town. The site chosen already had a stream running through it so it was entirely suitable for a park with a lake. The Borough Engineer, captain R H Hampton was requested to formulate a design for the park. He used as his inspiration for the layout a copy of the famous 'willow pattern' china plates. In the original layout there was a fountain on the island of the lake, plus a croquet lawn.<br /><br />
Locke Park was not officially completed until 1930, when another opening ceremony was performed by the Mayor, John Emerson Batty. However, the development of the park did not stop there, a very rare deciduous Catalpa tree was planted in the same year and still survives to this day. Then 27 cherry trees were planted on Saturday April 13, 1937 around the putting green by the 27 councillors of Redcar. During the war the park was bombed and the bowling green was hit, within a week the crater was filled in and play continued with minimal disruption.<br /><br />
The development of the park has continued with many new plantings to mark such events as the Queen's Silver and Golden Jubilee's. However, perhaps one of the park's most thoughtful features is the scented garden for the visually impaired, which was provided by the Rotary club in 1963 and opened by Mayor Lance Barker who was blind himself.<br /><br />
Taken from an account by Vera Robinson MBE the town's veteran historian.